• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 jlabaer

jlabaer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 28 February 2013 - 04:17 AM

I am a newbie with Plex. I have just installed it (v0.9.9.4)on a Windows Storage Server 2008 R2 platform.

The installation apparently went well and, after the reboot, I clicked on the Media Manager in the system tray.

At this point I got a "Get Started" screen with a spinner. The spinner never stops spinning and a perpetual message of "Please wait a moment while Plex starts" is on the screen.

Does this mean that I am not properly installed? Am I failing to connect to a website or something?

If I click the "skip" button, I can get the Home screen and I can make and save changes in the Settings.
But when I try to Add a section nothing happens. I can browse and select folders ok, but I cannot see any content in the dropdown menus of the Advanced Screen for adding a Section and when I click on the Add Section button, nothing happens.

I don't know how to begin to troubleshoot this. Please point me in the right direction.

#2 omarti321

omarti321

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 01 March 2013 - 05:02 PM

I have WHS 2011, and the default IE browser is locked down. It may be the same on your server if your using IE, certain permissions may need to be granted. 

I installed Chrome for the browser and set it as default, that made things easier. 

#3 jlabaer

jlabaer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 March 2013 - 05:15 PM

Thanks for this suggestion. It is a good one. My IE was also locked down, so I took your advice and installed Chrome and made it default.

When I tried opening the manager in chrome, it did not help. So I completely uninstalled Plex, did a full reboot of the server, and then reinstalled Plex with Chrome still the default browser.