Photo

Plex server, port forwarding, Virgin Router difficulties

Plex server Port Forwarding Virgin netgear

Best Answer breezytm, 06 May 2013 - 05:30 AM

Yes it does sound like port forwarding issue.

Check your router settings to see if it supports uPnP. If it does ensure it is enable but if it doesn't you need to configure the port manually in plex and your router. You can reuse that 24469 port as a manual port.

uPnP allows the router to enable ports automatically as requested by any application. Go to the full post

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 mattjtemp

mattjtemp

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 05 May 2013 - 06:54 PM

Hi there,

I'm very new to Plex, I'm not very technical and whilst I love what this seems to offer me I can't get this working seamlessly and can't find anything that is simple enough for a dolt such as myself to follow.

I have;

• Windows 7 laptop as plex server
  • Local content on a NAS drive
  • Windows Phone 7 with Plex client on
  • Virgin MEdia netgear router

My Plex server is up and running, it's scanned my content, it all looks great. When My phone is on my home wifi the client works like a dream and I can stream to the phone.

But, when I am off my wifi on another wifi or out and about on 3g my Windows Phone Plex client can not find my plex server, at home in settings the lex server says it's mapped to port 24469 (automatic, not manually set). I have a Virgin Media Netgear router, no port forwarding configured, Windows firewall is off, Norton firewall on the plex server laptop is set to allow Plex.