• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 PlexName001

PlexName001

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 28 July 2013 - 05:26 PM

HI everyone. Newbie here. Setup my Plex sever mannualy - port forward etc, but it never the service never works unless I log into MYplex.

Why is that and is there any way round this???

Its a great cross platform service. I paid for the app. I want to use it with out being tied to myPlex.

All suggestions welcome.

#2 sa2000

sa2000

Plex Star

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6936 posts

Posted 28 July 2013 - 05:36 PM

HI everyone. Newbie here. Setup my Plex sever mannualy - port forward etc, but it never the service never works unless I log into MYplex.

Why is that and is there any way round this???

Its a great cross platform service. I paid for the app. I want to use it with out being tied to myPlex.

All suggestions welcome.

It is called Security !

#3 FrozenDragoon

FrozenDragoon

Dedicated Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 289 posts

Posted 28 July 2013 - 11:12 PM

Yea, you'd have to change the Allowed Networks without Authentication setting to all, I'd imagine.

#4 PlexName001

PlexName001

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 29 July 2013 - 12:14 AM

Not having to login to a thrid party server and broadcast my home collection and server name and device name every time I wanted to play a song would far more secure.

Stupid to claim otherwise.

Tried the authentication setting.

There seems to be a hidden setting I think so that Plex will always be able to snoop/control what ever I do?

Such a shame as is a good product.

I do fel let down as I paif for the app but it is unusual unless logged into there servers.

I might see if I can get my money back if no one can help.

#5 FrozenDragoon

FrozenDragoon

Dedicated Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 289 posts

Posted 29 July 2013 - 06:38 AM

I get that feeling, kind of. Not so much with Plex, but with everything coming out as a whole, I get it.