Jump to content


Photo

[REL] ITV Player (UK Only)

ITV ITV Player ITV Catchup

  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 ReallyFuzzy

ReallyFuzzy

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts

Posted 30 July 2013 - 02:27 PM

Jeez, dissapear for 6 months and your topics get locked!

 

As it would appear that the previous ITV thread has been locked down, it looks like we'll have no choice but to start afresh.

 

An updated version of this plugin is available via here. Github: https://github.com/R...V-Player.bundle

 

This uses the newest version of the Plex framework and, more importantly, leaves behind the ol'creaky Webkit Site Configs and moves to straight up RTMP streams. This a good thing as it should make the plugin available to servers on all platforms and more clients.

 

However, from reading about these forums it looks like this will still be broken for most clients out of the box as the latest free version of the PMS is broken when transcoding RTMP streams. If you're on 0.9.7.28 and not using the main desktop clients either downgrade to 0.9.7.22 or pony up for the latest Plex Pass version.

 

Edit (2013-08-01):

 

Updated version of the plugin (v.0.5) now available for manual updates via the link above. This adds more navigation options and search. The only thing left to do at this point is Live streams, which may or may not be do-able. Don't hold your breath waiting for those, unless if someone else kindly volunteers the code.

 

Additionally, the plugin will eventually (shortly?) end up in the UAS. Once it's in there, this will be the recommended way of installing the plugin.


Edited by sander1, 13 January 2014 - 06:53 PM.
Removed dead link. Added new Github link.


#2 institute11

institute11

    Plex Star

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1397 posts
  • Location: Canada

Posted 30 July 2013 - 02:40 PM

The linked page leads to an old version of the plugin, I think. Has it been updated yet? I also looked on your github page and didn't see an ITV plugin.

 

Or maybe I do have the new one, it shows only one menu item "Most Popular Programmes". Is that the newest?



#3 ReallyFuzzy

ReallyFuzzy

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts

Posted 30 July 2013 - 03:39 PM

The linked page leads to an old version of the plugin, I think. Has it been updated yet? I also looked on your github page and didn't see an ITV plugin.

 

Or maybe I do have the new one, it shows only one menu item "Most Popular Programmes". Is that the newest?

 

That is indeed the latest version (0.4). This release is mostly to get something out there so people can get their ITV Fix (anyone?) whilst the rest of the plugin is tidied up.

 

And, yes, it's an update to the existing plugin (hence the updated release date and version number on the wiki).



#4 institute11

institute11

    Plex Star

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1397 posts
  • Location: Canada

Posted 30 July 2013 - 04:01 PM

OK, it works now on iOS. It did not initially but I then went to the itv.com web site with a browser and entered a UK postal code when prompted. Once I returned to the Plex Client the channel let me browse and play media. It does not work on Plex/web, however.
 
Update: Works on OSX Plex as well. Coronation Street works now.

#5 gadget78

gadget78

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 31 July 2013 - 10:48 PM

not showing up here atall in channel listings, im presuming its because im on version 0.9.7.22-4b5280f ? and not 'ponied' up for latest ??

would this be the same problem thats causing 4od, and channel5 issues/probs too ?



#6 ReallyFuzzy

ReallyFuzzy

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts

Posted 01 August 2013 - 04:03 AM

not showing up here atall in channel listings, im presuming its because im on version 0.9.7.22-4b5280f ? and not 'ponied' up for latest ??

would this be the same problem thats causing 4od, and channel5 issues/probs too ?

 

Which client are you using? If the plugin is installed correctly you should at least see it in the Video Channels and get the first few levels of navigations.



#7 ReallyFuzzy

ReallyFuzzy

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts

Posted 01 August 2013 - 04:07 AM

OK, it works now on iOS. It did not initially but I then went to the itv.com web site with a browser and entered a UK postal code when prompted. Once I returned to the Plex Client the channel let me browse and play media. It does not work on Plex/web, however.
 
Update: Works on OSX Plex as well. Coronation Street works now.

 

It should work fine on Plex/Web under PMS 0.9.7.22.... Does for me at least with the latest version of Firefox and Safari on OSX 10.8.



#8 JangoBritt

JangoBritt

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 05 September 2013 - 09:21 AM

I've got 0.9.8.5 running on my server, and have installed the new ITV Plugin.

 

It works on my Mac, but not on my Apple TV. I can browse the show list, but when I select an item, it errors out.

 

Any ideas?



#9 institute11

institute11

    Plex Star

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1397 posts
  • Location: Canada

Posted 05 September 2013 - 11:51 AM

It works for me on Plexconnect. I just played a an episode of Emmerdale and one of Coronation Street and they both played. Occasionally an episode will not successfully load the first time but if I try again I am usually successful. My only problem is that I use a DNS service to get around geoblocking (I am in Canada) and I often have to visit the ITV site via the web or my iOS app before things will play of Plexconnect.

#10 JangoBritt

JangoBritt

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 05 September 2013 - 11:53 AM

Ah, I'm using the native app on atv2

#11 institute11

institute11

    Plex Star

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1397 posts
  • Location: Canada

Posted 05 September 2013 - 11:59 AM

Yeah, that would make a difference.

#12 Keelan

Keelan

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 126 posts

Posted 10 October 2013 - 10:13 PM

Does this still work? I cant seem to get it to work in plex/web, latest PMS (plexpass).



#13 futurism

futurism

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 November 2013 - 05:56 PM

hi

 

ive just installed the latest plex version 0.9.8.10.215 on windows . I am trying to get the itv player channel working but whenever i try to play anything i get a sad face saying this channel is currently unavailable. 

 

please help

 

thanks



#14 cmmjenkins

cmmjenkins

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 08 November 2013 - 08:04 PM

I am using plex 0.9.8.6.175 on Windows and have the same problem. i.e. When I try to play something I get a sad face and the text "This channel is currently unavailable".

 

The "Plex Media Server.log" file shows HTTP code 404 (not found)...

 

Nov 08, 2013 19:48:30:964 [1528] DEBUG - Request: GET /system/:/services/url/lookup?url=http%3A//www.itv.com/itvplayer/the-only-way-is-essex/series-10/episode-10 [127.0.0.1:60577] (3 live)
Nov 08, 2013 19:48:30:964 [1528] DEBUG -  * url => http://www.itv.com/i...s-10/episode-10
Nov 08, 2013 19:48:30:964 [1528] DEBUG - We found auth token (dFpD5WNnJoYyypNqHtbA), enabling token-based authentication.
Nov 08, 2013 19:48:30:964 [1528] DEBUG - Came in with a super-token, authorization succeeded.
Nov 08, 2013 19:48:30:964 [1528] DEBUG - [com.plexapp.system] Sending command over HTTP (GET): /system/:/services/url/lookup?url=http%3A//www.itv.com/itvplayer/the-only-way-is-essex/series-10/episode-10
Nov 08, 2013 19:48:30:965 [1528] DEBUG - HTTP requesting to: http://127.0.0.1:530...s-10/episode-10
Nov 08, 2013 19:48:31:044 [1528] DEBUG - [com.plexapp.system] HTTP reply status 404, with 0 bytes of content.
 

Any ideas?

 

Thanks



#15 puttney

puttney

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 November 2013 - 05:22 PM

hi im new to plugins but get same error as above im on pms ror windows 9.8.10.215-020456b



#16 institute11

institute11

    Plex Star

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1397 posts
  • Location: Canada

Posted 09 November 2013 - 05:56 PM

The plugin is working for me

Remember, ITV Player is region restricted to the UK, so you will need to use a DNS or VPN service to use it outside of the UK.

#17 cmmjenkins

cmmjenkins

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 10 November 2013 - 11:17 AM

Strangely its now working. 



#18 puttney

puttney

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 10 November 2013 - 07:23 PM

working for me know strange



#19 bmann008

bmann008

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 11 January 2014 - 06:56 PM

It works just fine through Strong VPN http://bit.ly/19fIoZ2. Sometimes it can fail to start the stream, however this is a problem with ITV Player itself.



#20 darcilicious

darcilicious

    Dedicated Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 435 posts

Posted 11 January 2014 - 07:21 PM

How does one get this plug-in now? The link in the original post no longer works since the wiki was relaunched and it doesn't show up in Foreign (Region-Restricted) Plug-ins (where the BBC iPlayer plugin shows up just fine and I can use it just fine). Thanks.


Plex Media Server v0.9.8.18 / HP Touchsmart 600-1105xt / HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
PlexPass / Plex Home Theater v1.0.7 / Plex for Windows 8 v1.6.0.5 / TouchSmart Envy 23-d160qd / HP Media Center 8400F  
Sonos Play:3, Connect / Simple.TV / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 4






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: ITV, ITV Player, ITV Catchup

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users