# About watch history

**URL:** <https://forums.plex.tv/t/about-watch-history/874532>\
**Category:** General Discussions\
**Tags:** server-windows\
**Created:** [April 9, 2024, 7:08am UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/about-watch-history/874532 "2024-04-09T07:08:34Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 5\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![vkorni97](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/v/3be4f8/32.png) [@vkorni97](https://forums.plex.tv/u/vkorni97)\
**Post date:** [April 9, 2024, 7:08am UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/about-watch-history/874532/1 "2024-04-09T07:08:34Z")

</div>

Hi, I have a question about my watch history and I’ve encountered a strange situation. When I add a media with the wrong episode number (such as 301), and someone watches it, then I rename the media to the correct number, it still shows as watched. That’s understandable. However, if I mistakenly add a media with an existing episode number (and that episode has already been watched in the history), and then I rename it, the watched status remains unchanged. For example, if episode 1 already exists and has been watched by every user, and I accidentally add a wrong episode 1 (which should be episode 13), then rename it to 13, it automatically marks episode 13 as watched for everyone. Perhaps a button could be implemented to remove the activity from the watch history in such cases.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![jeffreyw81](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/j/9de053/32.png) [@jeffreyw81](https://forums.plex.tv/u/jeffreyw81)\
**Post date:** [May 26, 2024, 12:17pm UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/about-watch-history/874532/2 "2024-05-26T12:17:50Z")

</div>

Hi, there already is such a button. In Watch History, click on the three dots in the bottom right corner of the episode. Click “Remove Activity”.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![vkorni97](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/v/3be4f8/32.png) [@vkorni97](https://forums.plex.tv/u/vkorni97)\
**Post date:** [May 27, 2024, 8:47am UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/about-watch-history/874532/3 "2024-05-27T08:47:56Z")

</div>

Yes, I’m aware that I can remove the Discover Together activity. However, my issue is that even after renaming episodes, they still show as watched on all my friends’ accounts (because of file naming mistake). The only way I can remove this is by deleting it from the database.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![vkorni97](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/v/3be4f8/32.png) [@vkorni97](https://forums.plex.tv/u/vkorni97)\
**Post date:** [May 27, 2024, 8:54am UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/about-watch-history/874532/4 "2024-05-27T08:54:16Z")

</div>

And that’s not all. The latest update to the watch history system is a bit strange. Previously, if I marked episodes as watched (because I watched them at someone else’s place), the show would appear in my ‘Continue Watching’ list. Now, it doesn’t.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![system](https://global.discourse-cdn.com/plex/original/3X/2/a/2acb9765406f63293d357b4ec509ec39aa28f2ad.png) [@system](https://forums.plex.tv/u/system)\
**Post date:** [August 25, 2024, 8:54am UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/about-watch-history/874532/5 "2024-08-25T08:54:50Z")

</div>

This topic was automatically closed 90 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
