# Corrupted Perferences.xml

**URL:** <https://forums.plex.tv/t/corrupted-perferences-xml/779095>\
**Category:** Plex Media Server\
**Tags:** server-linux\
**Created:** [March 3, 2022, 5:43am UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/corrupted-perferences-xml/779095 "2022-03-03T05:43:23Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 3\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![lethalox](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/l/ea5d25/32.png) [@lethalox](https://forums.plex.tv/u/lethalox)\
**Post date:** [March 3, 2022, 5:43am UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/corrupted-perferences-xml/779095/1 "2022-03-03T05:43:23Z")

</div>

Server Version#:1.25.6.5577-c8bd13540  
Player Version#:

It appears that I have corrupted my Preferences.xml and it contains gibberish right now. Is there any way to recreate it? I would preference not recreate the server from fresh.

It appears that I need MachineIndentifier, ProcessMachineIdentifier, AnonymousMachineIdentifier, CertificateUUID, and PlexOnlineToken.

Are they stored in the DB files where a could extract the values?

I have to recreated the server, could I just delete the Preferences.xml file and point it at the /config folder and it will recreate the the content?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![ChuckPa](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/plex/user_avatar/forums.plex.tv/chuckpa/32/79710_2.png) [@ChuckPa](https://forums.plex.tv/u/ChuckPa)\
**Post date:** [March 3, 2022, 5:58am UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/corrupted-perferences-xml/779095/2 "2022-03-03T05:58:39Z")

</div>

If you lose / damage the `Preferences.xml`, only the machine’s ID, its ownership, and some settings are lost – PROVIDED `/config`, and the files below it, are not erased.

All your content is still contained down in the databases and metadata directories.

What happens at this point:

1. Your server has a new ID.
2. You claim it and add it to your account.
3. The setup wizard will offer to create library sections – SKIP this
4. Set any preferences you want as you proceed through.
5. When you arrive at the dashboard, you will find everything there.

Now, you’ll need go to Settings - Authorized Devices - Server (dropdown).

Chances are, you’ll have the same server name listed twice. One seen within the last minute or 2 and another some minutes in the past (the old one).

Find and remove the OLD server you just lost (look at the time info)

Check your Users & Sharing. Those should be intact but be prepared just in case.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![system](https://global.discourse-cdn.com/plex/original/3X/2/a/2acb9765406f63293d357b4ec509ec39aa28f2ad.png) [@system](https://forums.plex.tv/u/system)\
**Post date:** [June 1, 2022, 5:59am UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/corrupted-perferences-xml/779095/3 "2022-06-01T05:59:27Z")

</div>

This topic was automatically closed 90 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
