# optimized version deleted when I move original?

**URL:** <https://forums.plex.tv/t/optimized-version-deleted-when-i-move-original/198894>\
**Category:** General Discussions\
**Created:** [July 13, 2017, 4:21am UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/optimized-version-deleted-when-i-move-original/198894 "2017-07-13T04:21:32Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 5\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![dgran98](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/plex/user_avatar/forums.plex.tv/dgran98/32/13993_2.png) [@dgran98](https://forums.plex.tv/u/dgran98)\
**Post date:** [July 13, 2017, 4:21am UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/optimized-version-deleted-when-i-move-original/198894/1 "2017-07-13T04:21:32Z")

</div>

So I spent hours converting my library to plex optimized versions then I wanted to clean the drives and free some un-needed space up  
by deleting the original files , when I did so the optimized version went as well. I searched the drives but it was gone ( on ubuntu btw ).  
So I then attempted to simply move the original and poof optimized version was gone original moved and still in library.

Can we not keep one without the other?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![BigWheel](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/plex/user_avatar/forums.plex.tv/bigwheel/32/78783_2.png) [@BigWheel](https://forums.plex.tv/u/BigWheel)\
**Post date:** [July 13, 2017, 4:58am UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/optimized-version-deleted-when-i-move-original/198894/2 "2017-07-13T04:58:24Z")

</div>

no. optimized versions were not meant to replace your original files. if you want to keep it move the optimized version files someplace else and make a regular library so it is seen as a regular library item

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![dgran98](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/plex/user_avatar/forums.plex.tv/dgran98/32/13993_2.png) [@dgran98](https://forums.plex.tv/u/dgran98)\
**Post date:** [July 13, 2017, 2:47pm UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/optimized-version-deleted-when-i-move-original/198894/3 "2017-07-13T14:47:25Z")

</div>

gotcha, thank you for clarification.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Rob\_Hufstetler](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/plex/user_avatar/forums.plex.tv/rob_hufstetler/32/10965_2.png) [@Rob\_Hufstetler](https://forums.plex.tv/u/Rob_Hufstetler)\
**Post date:** [September 9, 2017, 4:07pm UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/optimized-version-deleted-when-i-move-original/198894/4 "2017-09-09T16:07:18Z")

</div>

Ya, well some are finding it convenient to use the Plex optimization as a replacement for Handbrake. It would be nice if there was a “Are you sure you want to delete SomeOptimizedFile.mp4” question or something… While I move the optimized files manually to a non Plex linked sub-directory then delete the original, I have been gotcha’d several times by mistake where I loose the original and the optimized and have to re-rip from the media… Plex is awesome! …but this little glitch sucks…

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![system](https://global.discourse-cdn.com/plex/original/3X/2/a/2acb9765406f63293d357b4ec509ec39aa28f2ad.png) [@system](https://forums.plex.tv/u/system)\
**Post date:** [January 7, 2020, 11:31pm UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/optimized-version-deleted-when-i-move-original/198894/5 "2020-01-07T23:31:21Z")

</div>


