There was an unexpected error loading this library

server-freebsd

Plex newbie here. Running version 1.7.1.3856 on FreeNAS. Brand new, clean installation. I've been able to add Music, Videos, and Movies as new libraries. No issues. After I create a new library for Photos I get the following when I click on it:

There was an unexpected error loading this library
Please visit our forums if you continue to experience problems

So I completely removed all of Plex and the storage shares from my FreeNAS and started installing Plex again. Same, exact problem happens. But only when adding libraries that are for Photos specifically.
Yes, I've updated the libraries. It skips right over the Photos library. Yes, I've optimized the database. It's a virgin installation.

Can duplicate on command.

Any suggestions?

-Rob

Hey Rob,

Had the same error on a Windows install version 3.2.1 after the initial install; I just deleted the Photos library and created a new one leaving all the default options pointing to a mapped network drive on my NAS for the folder and that worked for me.

Hope you find a solution. Scott

I have the same problem on FreeNAS. Everything was fine, I was looking for a show before I updated, going back and forth from TV shows, Movies, looking for things to sync to my phone. I noticed an update, went ahead and applied it, now Version 1.7.2.3878 and I get the same error. Now the odd thing if you let it sit, not sure how long, maybe 10 minutes i'm sure it depends on the size of your library, the error corrects itself and all seems well. So I don't have a clue.

I was running the 1.5.x version (the one FreeNAS installs with the plug-in) and had the same problem. I updated Plex hoping the error would go away. No luck.