Unable to play synced content in Windows 10 Plex app (possible EAC3 issue) How to downmix to 2.0??

windows-store-app

Has anyone been successful in getting synced media in Plex working in the Windows 10 app?

I've spent the last couple of hours combing through online and in these forums watching everyone pull their hair out because they can't solve this simple problem. Due to work reasons, I've recently switched from an Android tablet to Windows 10 via a Surface Pro 4.

I have been syncing content from Plex to Android for at least 4 years now without ever having any audio/video issues. It's been a complete joy to use. Now I download this Windows 10 Plex client and it's taking me forever to get around in it and I find the interface very unintuitive. Regardless, I'm now running into the issue were over 75% of my content on my server is EAC3 audio on my mkv files. Because of this, Plex won't play and gives the MF_MEDIA_ENGINE_ERR_SRC_NOT_SUPPORTED: HRESULT - 0xC00D36B2 error, which after reading basically means the mkv file has EAC3 audio which the Windows 10 "Movies & TV" app cannot play. Neither K-Lite codec pack nor Shark007 codec pack resolves the issue. In this case, installing VLC won't work because I'm not hunting around in the tons of folders of erroneous numbers and letters to try to find my media and then having to go back and mark each episode played and manually delete. NO. That is what I purchased a lifetime Plex Pass for.

So, I am asking if anyone has been able to do any of the below to resolve this:

1. Create a Custom profile for just 1 of your devices in Plex (in this case, a Surface Pro 4 running Windows 10 Pro) so that when syncing data to the device, the transcoding forces everything to 2.0 stereo? I use headphones while on the plane, and even if I did watch on my tablet speakers, it wouldn't be in surround sound anyway