# Undo Auto Optimization Settings

**URL:** <https://forums.plex.tv/t/undo-auto-optimization-settings/754796>\
**Category:** Plex Media Server\
**Tags:** server-mac\
**Created:** [November 1, 2021, 8:57pm UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/undo-auto-optimization-settings/754796 "2021-11-01T20:57:41Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 5\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![WalkGlacier](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/w/7ba0ec/32.png) [@WalkGlacier](https://forums.plex.tv/u/WalkGlacier)\
**Post date:** [November 1, 2021, 8:57pm UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/undo-auto-optimization-settings/754796/1 "2021-11-01T20:57:41Z")

</div>

Server Version#: Version 1.24.4.5081  
Player Version#:

A long time ago I setup an auto-optimizing setting in Plex. I think I did it by going to my movies, then made a resolution filter with 1080p (by title), clicked the “. . .” on the right, clicked “optimize” and unclicked the limit box, and choose “optimized for mobile”, clicked the optimize button. Henceforth, any 1080p movie added to my movie library was automatically optimized (so friends with slower internet access could watch at a lower resolution). It worked/works great! However, times are a changing and people have faster internet now (and I’d like to regain the hard drive space back). I would like to undo this auto-optimization feature but can’t figure out how. I know how to get rid of the optimized versions, but I no longer want newly added movies auto-optimized. Anyone know how to stop this? Thanks in advance.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![anon18523487](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/a/49beb7/32.png) [@anon18523487](https://forums.plex.tv/u/anon18523487)\
**Post date:** [November 3, 2021, 7:44am UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/undo-auto-optimization-settings/754796/2 "2021-11-03T07:44:32Z")

</div>

Using Plex Web so to your server settings. On the left find the “conversion page”. From there, click on “Optimized Versions Setting”. There you should see the command you made to optimize your library. Hover over it and click the X on the far right.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![WalkGlacier](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/w/7ba0ec/32.png) [@WalkGlacier](https://forums.plex.tv/u/WalkGlacier)\
**Post date:** [November 3, 2021, 11:53pm UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/undo-auto-optimization-settings/754796/3 "2021-11-03T23:53:05Z")

</div>

Your instructions may delete the rule but they also delete the optimized versions of movies. I would like to keep the optimized versions (for a bit), and only delete the rule so new movies are not automatically optimized. Possible?

Clicking the “x” I see the dialog “Removing this item will delete all versions created by Movies. Are you sure you want to continue?”

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![anon18523487](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/a/49beb7/32.png) [@anon18523487](https://forums.plex.tv/u/anon18523487)\
**Post date:** [November 4, 2021, 1:48am UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/undo-auto-optimization-settings/754796/4 "2021-11-04T01:48:48Z")

</div>

No, the optimized versions are tied to that. There may be one work around, but I haven’t tested so maybe create a small library with a few movies to verify.

If you delete the library, that should break the optimize job and allow you to remove the rule without removing the content since PMS wouldn’t know where the content is anymore. Then recreate the library and PMS will scan the optimized versions as regular versions.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![system](https://global.discourse-cdn.com/plex/original/3X/2/a/2acb9765406f63293d357b4ec509ec39aa28f2ad.png) [@system](https://forums.plex.tv/u/system)\
**Post date:** [February 2, 2022, 1:49am UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/undo-auto-optimization-settings/754796/5 "2022-02-02T01:49:23Z")

</div>

Closed on February 2, 2022, 1:49am UTC

This topic was automatically closed 90 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
