# "Unwatched Only" option behaviour when doing optimized version

**URL:** https://forums.plex.tv/t/unwatched-only-option-behaviour-when-doing-optimized-version/908652
**Category:** Plex Media Server
**Tags:** server-linux, media-optimizer
**Created:** [March 12, 2025, 12:10am UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/unwatched-only-option-behaviour-when-doing-optimized-version/908652 "2025-03-12T00:10:06Z")
**Posts on this page:** 2
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![another-cog-in-the-wheel](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/a/49beb7/32.png) [@another-cog-in-the-wheel](https://forums.plex.tv/u/another-cog-in-the-wheel)
#### Post date: [March 12, 2025, 12:10am UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/unwatched-only-option-behaviour-when-doing-optimized-version/908652/1 "2025-03-12T00:10:06Z")

</div>

In this article [https://support.plex.tv/articles/213095317-creating-optimized-versions/#:~:text=Unwatched%20Only,part%20of%20the%20optimization%20job](https://support.plex.tv/articles/213095317-creating-optimized-versions/#:~:text=Unwatched%20Only,part%20of%20the%20optimization%20job)

> Unwatched Only

> Choose whether or not the optimization should apply only to items that have not been watched. If this option is selected, then once an item has become “watched” it will no longer be part of the optimization job.

In case there are several users using the plex server, does it wait for everybody to watch before removing or does it remove it after one person watched it?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![system](https://global.discourse-cdn.com/plex/original/3X/2/a/2acb9765406f63293d357b4ec509ec39aa28f2ad.png) [@system](https://forums.plex.tv/u/system)
#### Post date: [June 10, 2025, 12:11am UTC](https://forums.plex.tv/t/unwatched-only-option-behaviour-when-doing-optimized-version/908652/2 "2025-06-10T00:11:05Z")

</div>

This topic was automatically closed 90 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
