If you have not already, we suggest setting your Plex username to something else rather than email which is displayed on your posts in forum. You can change the username at https://app.plex.tv/desktop#!/account
Welcome to our forums! Please take a few moments to read through our Community Guidelines (also conveniently linked in the header at the top of each page). There, you'll find guidelines on conduct, tips on getting the help you may be searching for, and more!

Getting a "Conversion failed. Transcoder crashed or failed to start up" error.

dko888dko888 Posts: 9Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

Hi, I've been using Plex for 3+ years now without seeing this conversion failed error. With the recent server update, I'm seeing this error randomly pop up, could be within a minute, could take more than 30 minutes, it does not occur on the same frame(s). I've seen this issue happen on both Chromecast as well as Xbox One Plex App.

I have attached my log files right after the most recent occurrence.

I'm current using Server version 1.9.2.4285 on Windows 10 64-bit.
I've already tried renaming the RSA folder as suggested in another forum entry but that hasn't helped.

Answers

• FawkeeFawkee Posts: 85Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

Same thing happening here. Windows 7 x64 and I'm on 1.9.3.4290 but it has happened with the last few that came out in the last couple weeks.

• DeltaVictorDeltaVictor Posts: 1Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

Same here, Windows 10 64-bit server version 1.9.2.4285. It seems to be related to transcoding audio.

• mazdaracermazdaracer Posts: 5Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass

Ditto! Running on AMDA8 laptop running Xbuntu 16+ i686. Will not play music nor display photos but still plays movies. I think the last one that worked was maybe 1.8.1? I didn't save the earlier versions. Would be nice to have those in the library someplace to fall back to.

• dko888dko888 Posts: 9Members, Plex Pass Plex Pass