Automatically DeSelect after a Merge

Currently after adding music, you frequently end up with a few musical artists that need to be merged together. You select multiple artists, hit merge, and they are all combined into one.
But that one is still selected.
So if you go and select other artists that need to be merged, they will be merged to that last one, not to each other.
The solution is to always remember to deselect that original merged object every time.
I think it would me a time saver as well as a way of preventing a royal mess when you merge two artists that have no business being merged, if after a merge all selections are deselected automaticaly.

Early 2021 clean-up: duplicate