How does watch status work with shared accounts?

If I share a whole library with a friend, does every item appear unwatched for them or does it keep my watch history?

Also if a friend watches or marks something as watched, does it change my library too?

Watch status is per user, not per library, you can even sync watch status across libraries if you enable that feature.

Okay so when a user opens up a library I’ve shared with them for the first time will everything appear as unwatched in their client?

It should unless they have watched something in another library, and have the sync enabled, then their view status will mirror.

That’s great, thanks. So marking something as played for me will do nothing for their library then right?

correct