Duplicate server options in watchlist

Server: Ubuntu-based machine, Docker-build version 1.26.2.5797
Player observed: Plex-For-Windows version 1.45.0.3013-1676042f

So, just noticed an oddity today regarding the Watchlist feature. If you are a managed user and you add items to your watchlist that your server owns, you get a duplicate entry. This seems to have to do with being a managed user, as the icon for my admin account AND my managed user show up here.

The Blue “D” is my admin account that nobody watches anything from. The peach “N” is for the managed user that only I use. When on this user, an item in my watchlist shows a duplicate entry that both take me to the same server-side show item.

  1. Make a managed user account, if you haven’t already.
  2. Log into this managed user on Plex-for-Windows.
  3. Add an item to your watchlist that your server owns.
  4. View the watchlist item.
  5. See the "Watch from these locations [BETA] list show your server twice (or more, perhaps, if you have duplicate servers?)

Expected behavior: Only one server option should be available. I expected the Admin icon, but that is only because I previously used the admin account to test this feature. Developer’s choice on whether to display the server admin icon, or the managed users own icon. (Since it uses the admin icon on current web, that is likely the better choice)

Note, tested on Plex Web version 4.82.1: Issue does not happen on hosted web app. Local server web app does not have watchlist feature.

I expect this problem is already fixed, but the player has yet to receive the update which includes this?

Thanks for report. That is weird. Will try to reproduce.

By any chance do you have that computers IP set in the IPs allowed without auth setting on your server?

Ah, I just noticed that the names of the servers vary. Might have to do with Plex account usernames vs server names? My forum username is “divideby0”. My account username is “DivideBy0”. My Server-name might originally have been “Divideby0” (unsure), but is currently “DivideByZero”.

I transferred my server metadata from a Synology DSM 6 build to this Ubuntu Docker build a year ago, so I cannot be sure if that is related.

I have no clue if/when I changed my server name.

I know that when you added account usernames to Plex accounts, I was worried I had to do this, so I tried to claim “DivideByZero”, but you claimed it was in use, so I picked “DivideBy0” which was accepted.

It seems the Blue “D” uses my account user-name, while my peach-color “N” uses my server-name.

Um, oh, didn’t see your second sentence until now. Yes, I have my entire local network set to allowed without auth. Probably don’t need that…

I generally think it is a good idea to have at least one local device on network with it’s IP in there. I leave my main computer (which is different than what I run my server on) as allowed without auth, so from that one I can always access it and fix whatever needs fixing. If you live with others then I would only do it for a device that only you use so others cannot get into admin settings