I am in the middle of migrating my install to another system. During the migration process I made a backup of my Plex Media Server data directory from my source machine and have already unpacked everything on my destination machine. It then occurred to me that I forgot to disable “Empty trash automatically after every scan” on my library. I have now retroactively done so but I am unsure whether the old preference will be passed with the backed up data or if it tied to my Plex account. Can anyone let me know?
It is a server setting, not one of the account.
So you’re saying it will be passed with the backup? If so, is there a way I can change the preference somewhere in those files themselves rather than redoing the full backup process?
AFAIK you only need to pull the main DB file again.
Thank you
Upon further research, it is a flag located in Preferences.xml named autoEmptyTrash (the variable isn’t even written to the file when on the default of value of 1). Adding autoEmptyTrash=“0” will disable it.
https://support.plex.tv/articles/201105343-advanced-hidden-server-settings/#toc-1