Redirecting users

so im having a prob.

  1. one of my users texts me the other day, “plex got ads now” so im thinking, no it shouldnt while watching one of my movies, im thinking. so im still thinking, and i figure it out. he searched a movie and seen it there and thought it was on my server but, it was one on Plexes thing where u watch with ads. THIS never use to happen.
  2. another user (different user) and i are talking the other day and she says, “i wont have to bother u tonight i already looked up some movies and u have them on there” so i say cool and leave it at that. so later on she calls and says “guess what them movies i said was on there where not” now with the first user im already thinkin Plex with ads. and im right she seen the movies there but on the Plex with ad thing.
  3. we pay money, our ppl should not be getting redirected on searching a movie.
  4. its all this discovery thing. i thought about it cause i liked some options but NO not if its gonna do this too. ty for reading

All of this can be disabled, if you don’t want it.

Per-user account settings

These need to be repeated under each regular (i.e. not “managed”) user account.

  1. to disable the bar that says “Activity by X” on all your movie and TV show preplay pages: go here https://app.plex.tv/desktop/#!/settings/online-media-sources and scroll down. Disable “DISPLAY ACTIVITY FROM MY FRIENDS ON DETAIL PAGES”

  2. to disable all those free media sources: go here https://app.plex.tv/desktop/#!/settings/online-media-sources and disable all the sources under “General” you don’t want.
    Hint: “Disabled for managed users” will not disable it for you, since you are a regular user, not a managed one.

  3. on the same settings page, you can disable Discover as well

  4. set the Watch History, Watchlist, Ratings, Friends List to “private” by going here https://app.plex.tv/desktop/#!/profile/edit scroll to the bottom and “Edit” the Privacy Settings. In the same dialog, set the Account Visibility to “Friends only”. Save.

  5. on this page https://app.plex.tv/desktop/#!/settings/account you can disable the syncing of “Watched” data and Ratings from your personal Plex server to your account. This will render most of the things in 4) almost useless.
    However, this will also prevent your account from syncing back these status data to a second or replacement Plex server of your own. (And to servers which are shared with you.)

  6. Go through your list of Plex friends https://app.plex.tv/desktop/#!/friends and remove those from which you don’t wish to see any activity.
    Plex Friendship and media sharing are now separate things – i.e. you can keep on sharing your media with them.

  7. Verify the email notification settings for your account as well and adapt them to your wishes: https://www.plex.tv/email-preferences

Yes but if our users are “not tech inclined” it makes it hard for us admin. What we gotta sit every user down for a chat on how to set up their app.

That is how it is, and it kinda sucks.

One of the most important things you can tell your users is how to pin and un-pin sources. If you do not un-pin Plex’s ad-supported streams, then that content shows up in suggestions like Continue Watching and people can end up seeing ads.

Sources that are un-pinned can still be browsed, it just takes a couple extra clicks to get there.