Media Server Novice

Hi all, i am seeking some really basic advice as i am a complete novice.
I would like to upload all my media onto my plex account so my son can just use the tv app to watch what he wants.

I managed to create the playlists ok, however it seems i must have my laptop on at all times in order for him to watch the media on the playlists.

So my question is this , is there a program or piece of kit i could buy to work as my plex media server so i dont have to leave my laptop on?

I have read alot of answers and questions but unfortunatly i just dont understand the jargon being used.

any help would be really apreciated but please dumb it down for me.

Many Thanks

Well.. hopefully this will make sense, but Plex needs three key parts to be active at all times to function properly.

Plex Media Server (PMS) - This is the backbone of Plex, and it needs to be running live in order for anything to be watched. It can run on a computer such as your laptop, or it can also run on what's called a Network Attached Storage Device (NAS; see below). There are a few other options that people are fond of which may get mentioned in additional comments.

Your Files - Once you have PMS up and running, it will need to be able to access your files. You can store these files on the same unit or computer that runs PMS, or you can buy a NAS device to house them. Some people prefer to purchase a NAS that can run Plex. Most can, but you'll need a higher end one if your files aren't compatible with your Plex Client. You really only need a NAS if you've got a LOT of files, otherwise you can probably get away just a PC with a decent sized hard drive.

Plex Client - This is the app or piece of software you're using to play back the files on your chosen device. Lots of Smart TVs or devices such as a Roku have Plex Clients available for them. There's even an app/program for the PC known as Plex Media Player (PMP).