Plex doesn't see files/sub-folders from a second SSD?

I have a server and have exhausted space on my 8Tb external SSD (i.e., HD#1). So, I have begun adding files to a second SSD (HD#2).

However, when using the “Add Volume” option within Plex for my Movie library, it cannot recognize any files or subfolders within HD#2 using the “Add Folder” menu. It also doesn’t see/recognize media files or sub-folders within a 3rd external hard-drive that I plugged in.

It seems to only be able to recognize files in HD#1. Any thoughts? It feels like I’m missing something simple here…

Server Version#: 1.32.3.7192 [Latest Version]
Player Version#:
<If providing server logs please do NOT turn on verbose logging, only debug logging should be enabled>

have you scrolled up? You should see back there at at least

Yes - “back” is in the menu, but none of the subfolders. I hooked up a 4th external drive and it CAN see the subfolders within that. Which makes it’s inability to see subfolders within drives #2 and #3 curious.

The only other overt commonality that drives #2 and #3 have is that “Time Machine” for Mac (i.e., automated hard drive backups) are designated on both of these disks. I’m going to try turning that off, reformatting drive #2, and seeing if that fixes anything.

I’m having the same problem and my drive is also designated as a Time Machine drive so that seems to be related. I removed this drive from Time Machine but the TM icon remains on the drive and plex continues to refuse to see subfolders on that drive.

I finally was able to get it to work. Time Machine is the issue. On Mac, go to Time Machine settings and then remove the drive as a Time Machine backup. Then you have to reformat the disk (Utilities > Disk Utility > Erase). After doing this, it removed the drive as a Time Machine backup and Plex was able to recognize subfolders once again.

I also found that Time Machine was the issue. Reformatting isn’t practical in my case because the drive contains 5TB of data. There must be a way to remove TM designation other than wiping the drive.

Does anyone know how to do this?

Sorry - not sure. Ultimately, I couldn’t find a way to get rid of that TM designation either – even after removing the drive from Time Machine settings as a backup source.

I tried deleting the TM backup files themselves by dragging to the trash can. But, this process was going to take several days (due to the terabytes of Time Machine backup data).

So, instead, I temporarily moved all of my media to a separate disk drive, then used Disk Utility to reformat the original drive (thereby removing all remaining Time Machine files), and then moved my media back over.