Improved server recovery mechanism

I notice a large number of “I installed Plex, but now I can’t add my media to it. I log in and it just tells me to get plex!” topics posted to the forums.

Typically there is some confusion about which account was used, and the recovery process needs to be performed.

It’s not intuitive to new users that they’ve logged in via the local web server, but don’t have access to that server. A bummer of a new user experience.

Brainstormed (bad) ideas, in no particular order or combination:

  • On applicable platforms, show the owner and allow reclaiming via the taskbar/menu icon.

  • When you log in via localhost, show the server and owner, and allow it to be reclaimed.

  • When you log in from the same subnet, show the server and owner.

  • Add a setting to disable showing the server owner.

  • Add a setting to disable the ability to reclaim the server from localhost.